Skip to content

Creativity & Inspiration

February 10, 2012

I have played a little guitar on and off for some years.  I enjoy it, but just never was able to get very good at it…I can play some chords and simple rhythm and sing a little, but none of it to the level you would call “good”.  People would sometimes walk in on me practicing or see the guitar there, and they’d invariably say, “play something”.  And I would get this deer-in-the-headlights look, and couldn’t remember a single song.  Nothing.  It happened to me more times than I can count.  And what happened next was just as inevitable.  The only thing my grasping mind could come up with was whatever tune I was working on at the time…something I only halfway knew.  Terrible.

Cooking is a little like that for me.  I try to come up with something to cook…either something I know or some concoction, and I can think of nothing.  I mean, there are a couple things that always come to mind, and once they take hold I can’t dislodge them.  It’s frustrating.  I have such a good memory about most things, but coming up with dishes I have made and liked in the past just draws a blank.

One thing that helps me is if I go to the pantry or refrigerator and take a look at what I have to work with.  Then I can start to bring something together.  But even then, it rarely brings to mind things I have made in the past.  Also, what about when the cupboard is bare?  Or I just want to lay out a meal plan?  I can never think of a thing.

I’ve tried keeping recipe logs and whatnot, and that helps, but it’s tough to stay on top of.  I think maybe I need to think in terms of some kind of theme, maybe that would help.

Any suggestions?

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. fish permalink

    just do what bob ross always did… draw some happy trees and some happy clouds and soon enough you will find your recipe…. the recipe within.

    p.s. unfortunately i don’t have any real advice since i have no real ideas of themes… unless you can coordinate colors of some type… like i said – i know nothing!! :0)

Comments are closed.

