Skip to content

Raspberry Vinaigrette

February 3, 2012

I made a vinaigrette yesterday that turned out pretty well.  Vinaigrettes are new to me, really.  I made my first one that was edible a few weeks ago, a roasted garlic vinaigrette.  It was excellent.  This one wasn’t as good, but still fairly tasty.

I took about a half pint of raspberries and processed them until smooth.  Then I added about 1/4 cup each of balsamic and apple cider vinegar, about a tablespoon of Dijon mustard, and about 1 tbsp of sugar.  After mixing that, I drizzled in about a cup of olive oil with the processor running.  I seasoned the dressing after, and kept adding more and more salt.  Vinaigrettes, I have learned, require quite a lot of salt.  However, I kept expecting a strong raspberry taste to come through, but it never did.  Because of that, I ended up with a little too much salt.

I think, as The Wife suggested, it might have benefited from a little lemon juice.  But, regardless, it was not bad.  I look forward to trying more of them and using them for things besides salads.  Perhaps my roasted garlic vinaigrette as a london broil marinade.  Hmmm.  Note to self…

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

