Skip to content

Ghosts In The Kitchen

January 27, 2012

We woke up the other morning to find this…

WTH????

I had cooked a pan of rice the night before and left the remainder (very little, as usual) on the cooktop.  Burners off.  What happened?

Anyway, since we really only have a couple of good saucepans, today I ordered this.  We have two of their frying pans that we are extremely happy with, so I figured we would go that route for the saucepans.  The one in the photo is a 2 1/2 Qt., the one I ordered is a 3 Qt.  The one we have remaining that the goblins haven’t gotten to yet is a 1 1/2 Qt.  They have been really good pans but I’ll be happy to get rid of the glass lids with my propensity to break things.  We are trying to figure out what to get to round out the pot/pan selection.  With the order I placed today, we have a 1 1/2 Qt., 3 Qt., and a 6 Qt.  I would like to have them all, which would mean buying the 1, 2, 4 and 8.  But I’m thinking that’s probably not necessary.

But then, what do I forego?  I’d really like to have the 1 Qt. because the small saucepan is really nice sometimes.  Without the 2 Qt., we have a gaping hole between the 1 1/2 and the 3.  And sometimes it’d be nice to have a big 4 Qt. with a handle rather than always using the 6 Qt. pot.  And the 8 Qt. is, well, big.  And I love big.  But the problem is, they want money for all this stuff.  Real party poopers that way.

I also bought this.  I don’t own any Victorinox knives, but they have really made a splash recently.  Supposedly excellent knives for the money.  The Amazon ratings are all great.  I want to be able to buy whole fish and chicken and process them myself, but it’s difficult to impossible without a good boning knife.  That’s my plan…we’ll see if I carry it out or go back to buying boneless, skinless chicken breasts and fish filets out of laziness.  But at least I’ll know how to do it!

I’ll cook a big pan of rice in my new pan when it comes in and let you know how it does.  And what do you think of my adding videos to my blog?  That might be cool.  We’ll see where it goes.  In the meantime, I can’t wait for my new utensils!  I’m gonna go get some whole chickens…

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

