Skip to content

Food Is Good

January 27, 2012

Speaking of Anthony Bourdain earlier got me thinking of something The Wife said about him.  That he enjoys the lower class, street vendor style of food as much as the gourmet fancy stuff.  And it’s true, he does enjoy all of it.  And so do I.  That’s because food is good.  Or, at least, it can be.

Like the meatloaf/crab cake comparison.  Do I like crab cakes more than meatloaf?  Sure.  But a good meatloaf served with some mashed potatoes is some good eats.  But I go further than that.  I have to admit, prior to my celiac diagnosis, I was a fast food fiend.  I loved me some fast food burgers.  McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Whataburger…  I remember (I hate to date myself this way, but…) when we got our first McDonald’s.  Now, I had eaten a Big Mac once before and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on another.  And if that sounds crazy, you have to remember, and if you’re not old enough to remember, take my word, back in the day Big Macs had meat on them.  And special sauce.  And real cheese.  They weren’t always the lettuce burgers they are today.  They were good.  Really good.

I hate it when I hear people run down McDonald’s.  What is wrong with it, really?  I mean, the guy in Super Size Me gorged himself on nothing but McDonald’s food and it wasn’t good for him.  Shocker.  I maintain that if you gorged yourself on nothing but just one thing, anything, it probably wouldn’t be very good for you.  But that isn’t even the point.  McDonald’s is what it is.  It is a place where you can drive up, and a couple minutes and couple bucks later have a meal.  Is it going to be the best thing you ever ate?  Probably not.  Is it going to be the most nutritious thing you could eat?  Nope.  But if you’re short on cash and/or time, it’s satisfying and fills the bill.

But me?  I loved ’em.  I still liked ’em even when they became by-product lettuce burgers.  I missed the real deal, but they still ate.  I appreciate food in all it’s forms and fashions.  From the fancy to the mundane.  I can’t remember how many boxes of Kraft Mac & Cheese I went through.  The powder didn’t bother me.  Until shortly before I was diagnosed…they did something to it that made it taste a little funky…

I’m so suggestible, I hope I’m never hypnotized.  There’s no telling what embarrassing things someone could make me do.  After all this talk of burgers, tonight, it will be burgers.  A mixture of 70/30 and 80/20 (too lean and they’re dry), over a charcoal Weber grill (I gave up on the propane for the more labor and flavor intensive charcoal).  A little salt and pepper, some of my rub, a little Worcestershire.  Some fries cooked up in the oven (I prefer deep-fried natural cut fries, but it’s such a hassle we usually end up with frozen in the oven).  And some Rudi’s gluten-free bread to hold it together.

Another thing I have really learned to enjoy, which is not such a stretch given my love of white rice, is a char-grilled cheeseburger patty with a little mayonnaise with some rice.  I love it.

That is what has helped me in dealing with my illness more than anything.  The realization that food, in and of itself, is good.  I don’t worry about how it’s “supposed” to be eaten, or what is “supposed” to go with what.  I eat what I like.  And I like a lot of things.  And, you can tell by looking at me, I eat a lot of a lot of things.  I’m trying to cut down, but it’s just so good.

Excuse me while I run to the store to get some ground beef.  And some sweet onions and fresh tomatoes and lettuce and…

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. linda k. stevens permalink

    spoken by a true foodie! everyday, i can’t wait to read the next entry! (love the hypnosis idea)….:)

Comments are closed.

