Skip to content

More On My Flour

January 23, 2012

I mentioned Peter & Kelli Bronski previously as the authors of the blend of gluten-free all-purpose flour I use.  This flour works very well for what I use it for, which is primarily, but not only, breading and thickening.  The ingredients are more and more readily available and the method I use to combine them is very easy.  You can find the recipe here.

Thanks to this little gem, making my own flour blend is a very simple process.

Digital Scale

I use these Oxo containers for my flours and grains.  They’re great also.

Oxo Container

I simply place the container on the scale, tare it, and add the prescribed amount of ingredient.  Then I tare it again, and add the next, and so on until it’s complete.  Then I place the lid, and shake like a madman for a while until I’m sure it is completely mixed.

The flour works and tastes great as a thickener.  For cream gravy, just melt 2 TBSP butter in a heavy sauce pan.  When it begins to froth, add 3 TBSP of the flour.  Cook and stir for about 2 minutes, being careful not to let the mixture begin to brown.  Remove from the heat, and slowly whisk in 2 cups of heated milk.  Bring to a boil and cook for 1 minute.

Another thickener I have used, that I found this flour particularly suited for was a Buerre Manie.  You knead equal amounts of butter and flour (by weight) together and drop pea-sized pieces into your simmering sauce until it reaches the desired consistency.  This method also provides a nice sheen to the sauce and can be used as an alternative to a cornstarch slurry.

There are actually a couple advantages I think this flour, and probably most g-free flours, have over wheat flour.  First, this flour doesn’t have the same tendency to bind up in lumps when the roux is added to a sauce.  Sometimes it will lump as it sits, but these are usually quite gelatinous and easily whisked smooth.  Second, it doesn’t need to be cooked as long to get rid of that raw, starchy flour taste.

Give it a try.  I think you’ll like it.

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

