Skip to content

Some Things I Love, Some Things I Hate, Some Things I Love To Hate

January 15, 2012

Take a look at this picture

Seems fine, right? I mean, we have a nice, spacious kitchen with lots of counter space and storage. The white oven doesn’t match the stainless microwave, but it’s the last appliance for us to replace. However, in this picture you will see several things that I have quite strong feelings about:

I wish we had a real vent hood. One that actually vents outside. Not one that circulates the “filtered” air back into the house. It’s a joke.

I hate that ceramic cooktop. It takes forever to heat anything. It’s a pain to clean. And did I mention it takes forever to heat anything? Especially on the small burners which account for two of the four.

I love the cast iron skillet though. I love it for the three H’s. History, heft, and heat. The tradition of it is awesome. I asked my mom if I could have hers when she leaves us, along with her pressure cooker. I still remember the sound of that pressure gauge rattling and the smell of cornbread in the skillet. It’s heavy, which means that it conducts heat evenly and holds it efficiently. Plus it’s naturally non-stick. But I didn’t know how to make that start with an ‘H’.

Of course, by the name at the top you know how I feel about the metal spoons.

You can barely see it in this picture, but on the left you can just make out the edge of a bamboo salt box. Love it.

And now we come to the biggest pet peeve of the whole set up. Why would you put a cooktop above an oven instead of going with a free-standing range? I’ll tell you why. Because when this house was built 10 years ago cooktops were the cool thing to have. Never mind that doing so uses up space that could have been a storage or warming drawer under the range. Or that the oven would be higher so I wouldn’t have to get down on my knees to get things in and out of the oven.

And finally, the thing I love most in this pic. The food in those pots and pans. Mashed potatoes, gravy, glazed carrots and water…on the slow, agonizing boil…for sweet tea. But more on that later…

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Wow. As I look at this I wonder how I’m able to turn out any food at all. What a piece of junk. One of these is in my future. http://www.vikingrange.com/consumer/products/product.jsp?skuPassthru=false&id=prod8590158

  2. fish permalink

    its pronounced hhhnonstick. :0)

  3. jaykay permalink

    Nice pots and pans.

Comments are closed.

