Skip to content

Freecycle.org

January 14, 2012

This is a great program.  I’m not big on all this environmental stuff…the zealots turned me off a long time ago.  Plus, my cynicism won’t let me regard most of the hype with anything but a roll of the eyes.  I remember when the Iraq oil fires were going to destroy corn crops in Iowa.  Yeah.

However, I’m not opposed to doing common sense things to help the environment.  And I’m even more on board for doing common sense things to help people.  Freecycle apparently started as a way to keep some of the junk out of the landfills.  The old “one man’s junk is another man’s treasure”.  This program has brought that home to us in ways we could never have imagined.  We have picked up some very cool stuff from people for free, including a couple printers and a full blown PC with a flat-screen monitor.  And today, we cleaned out the garage and had a cornucopia of junk to get rid of.  I mean, junk.  Three garden hoses that were so kinked up I can’t imagine even the Texas sun relaxing them.  Lumber scraps.  Some small working door samples from my job…like 2 ft square.  Most of which we thought we would have to pay to take to the landfill.  And tonight almost all of it is already gone.  The rest will be gone tomorrow.  I bet we had in the neighborhood of 50 responses.  Unbelievable.

So, if you live in or around a metropolitan area, I recommend it highly.  All free and all for the taking or giving.  And all without a government program.

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

